4th Daring Bakers Challenge – Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake

31 March, 2008 at 10:26 am | Posted in » Daring Bakers, » Recipes, » Yummy Cakes | 16 Comments
Tags: , , ,

This month’s DB Challenge is taken from the baking book, Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. Hosted by lovely Morven of Food Art and Random Thoughts.

This is how the writer describe this cake: “The cake is snow white, with an elegant tight crumb and an easygoing nature: it always bakes up perfectly; it is delicate on the tongue but sturdy in the kitchen – no fussing when it comes to slicing the layers in half or cutting tall, beautiful wedges for serving; and, it tastes just as you’d want a party cake to taste – special.”

Doesn’t it sounds like just the kind of cake you wana have for any birthdays ? Well, at least it does to me.. =) But mine turns out to be otherwise… =(

dories_party_cake_0001.jpg

The messy layers…
dories_party_cake_0005.jpg

The cake didn’t rise much and have quite a dense texture… dunno if it suppose to be like that? I did not do a good job on the layering of the jam & buttercream and the final frosting. I have have substitute the shredded coconut with chopped almonds. This cake have alot of buttercream… I dun think I will be using this recipe again as I am never a fan of buttercream… it’s just too fattening and too buttery for me… 

Sorry I’m a day late for this post, got back home very late yesterday from Malaysia. Check out how others did here.

Here’s what I did using the left over egg yolks…. Leche Flan!! And I think I over boil the sugar… thus the dark color of the caramel… =(
leche_flan_0001.jpg

Ingredients:

(A)
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup water

 

(B)
7-8 egg yolks
1 can less 1/4 cup condensed milk (I used low fat)
1 cup evaporated milk
1/4 tsp lemon extract

 

Method:

 

1.    Put sugar and water (A) in a pan. Let boil under moderate heat. Let sugar melt and water evaporate. When syrup is thick and amber colored pour into llaneras (oval flan molds) or ramekins will also do. Let cool.
2.    Combine egg yolks, condensed milk and evaporated milk. Blend well. Add lemon extract. Mix until well combined.
3.    Pour mixture into llaneras or baking tins (1 inch thick). (Make sure sugar syrup is completely cooled before pouring the mixture). Cover llaneras with foil so water doesn’t get into the custard mixture while steaming.
4.    You can cook these either baine-marie style or you can simply steam it. I prefer to use the latter method since it’s a lot simpler. Use high heat initially until water boils then lower the heat to low. Cook for about 45 minutes to one hour depending how thick you made your custard.
5.    When done, chill.
6.    To serve – unmold leche flan by running a thin knife around the llanera. Put a serving plate on top of the llanera, up-side-down. Invert and remove llanera.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. it looks more yummy than messy to me! oh yeah, and that flan looks absolutely delish!

  2. The cake is simply lovely! I’m no fan of buttercream as well so I made most of my cakes with whipped cream. Cashew sounds a nice addition to the cake 🙂 I made my leftover egg yolks to leche flan as well (“,)

  3. Great minds think alike – I did a square cake too! 🙂 haha 🙂

  4. You make a great job… my cake didn’t rise too much, like yours…don’t worry!!! 🙂

  5. YUUUUM FLAN!!! and it is a heart.. that is soo pretty!! Your cake looks good.. I don’t care what you say.. I think it is mighty fine.. sometimes we create these images in our heads of sky high cakes.. but yours looks like a success to me!! so Congratulations!!!

  6. I love that you did a square cake!

    That flan looks delicous!

  7. You did a wonderful job on your cake and the leche flan. I love your mochi bread too.

    Natalie @ Gluten A Go Go

  8. The Leche Flan looks so yummy! Please please please share your recipes dear! 😀

  9. Jac, I have include the recipe for the Flan. =)

  10. that looks GOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!

    great job! thumbs up. I may attempt it too ;D

  11. Hi your recipe is great i just wanted to ask where did you bought the heart shape llaneras?

    • Hi Ruth,

      I got it from my local baking supply store.. Phoon Huat (singapore).

  12. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    • thanks!

  13. Your flan is PERFECT. I love that deeply caramelized sugar contrasting with the custard.

    • i like the color too!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

