Mochi Bread: finding the right recipe…

29 March, 2008 at 10:53 am | Posted in » Fresh Breads & Buns, » Recipes | 26 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Saw an interesting thread in a baking forum which I frequent… it is Mochi Bread made by Sun Moulin Bakery @ Isetan Scotts. I have never try this before, but would like to see how mine turns out, so I went ahead with the experiment journey together with the rest of the fellow forumers… if you are interested as well you can get more information here.

I have change the recipe slightly to see whether it gets the right texture since the rest of the recipe is yet to have.

And here’s my result – the crust is crispy even after awhile and the interior is chewy
mochi_bread_0004.jpg

Ingredients:

100 grams glutinous flour (mochiko flour)
20 grams cake flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp soy flour (can substitute with cheese powder)
1 tbsp milk
100 grams water
40 grams sugar
1/2 tsp salt
20 grams butter
10 grams shortening
1/2 egg (beaten)

Method:

1.    Preheat oven to 170 deg C.
2.    Sieve glutinous flour, soy flour (or cheese powder), cake flour and baking soda together.
3.    In a saucepan, bring water to boil, add water and salt. Add in butter and shortening. Remove from heat. Slowly sprinkle the flour mixture until well combined and form a dough.
4.    Slowly pour the wet butter mixture into the flour mixture, stir until well combined and forms a dough.
5.    Stir in the milk and stir in beaten egg, a spoonful at a time.
6.    Use a piping bag with plain nozzle, pipe out the batter.
7.    Bake at 170 deg C for 15 – 20 mins, reduced to 150 deg C and bake for another 10 mins with oven door slightly ajar.
8.    You can also sprinkling some sugar or cheese powder on top.

26 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m Sophie, Key Ingredient’s Chief Blogger. We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks 🙂

    Sophie

  2. […] Karen’s rolls are more exciting than the average all-purpose flour based ones. In her blog, My Baking and Cooking Passion, she talks about their texture; “their crust is crispy even after awhile and the interior is […]

  3. This is like a lot like Brazilllian Pao de Queijo which is made with tapioca flour.

  4. Hi,
    Your mochi bread looks so good… I’ll definitely try out the recipe. I have all ingredients except soy flour… can I omit it? Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Regina Chennault

    • Hi Regina,

      you can try to substitute the soy flour with cheese powder as stated in the recipe or you can omit it totally.

  5. Hi Karen,

    I tried out the recipe but failed miserably. The batter is very runny (even after I added in more mochiko flour) and the result is more like thin pancakes with crispy edge. My kids didn’t mind the defects and ate them as they are crispy. Wonder what did I do wrong?… pls help!

    Thx,
    Regina

    • Hi Regina,

      the mixture should not be very runny… it shld be a very soft dough, did you add too much water??

    • I tried this recipe and I got the same result. I forgot to heat up the water though, just mixed up everything and it was very runny. I added a lot of mochiko flour to make it a dough. It just doesn’t work for me. I wonder why.

  6. Hi,

    These look delicous and well made. Anyway, is there an easier way to convert this into the Standard Metric system, because I seem to be having a problem with the recipe when converted. (It’s all me, I suppose, haha)

    Also, do you have to use Soy flour, or can you just leave it out without effect?

    Thanks!

    ~
    TMoh

  7. Hi Karen, thank you for sharing this from scratch. Most people would be using Mochi bread mix. I can’t wait to try this out.

  8. Hi! i tried baking it.. but it turned out rock hard ): like scones! haha! help!!!

  9. Hi! Is this bread similar as the chewisty bread in Korea’s Dunkin Donut? 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

    simplydolicious.com

    • Hi! not sure how the Korea’s Dunkin Donut taste like, but from the pix on your blog it seems like it.

  10. thank you for sharing this from scratch. Most people would be using Mochi bread mix. I can’t wait to try this out.

  11. Banana Nut Bread

  12. hi i was wondering can those gluecose flower be yeast? if so about how much thx

  13. I love the mochi buns from Sun Moulin. Thanks for the recipe?

    I tried this last weekend but my buns were too salty – is the salt necessary for anything other than taste?

    And is the sugar only for sprinkling, and not for mixing into the dough?

    • hi, u can reduce the salt if it’s too salty. the additional sugar for sprinkling is optional.

  14. Hi, i was wondering if i could leave out the soy flour(cheese powder) and the shortening. Also, if i wanted to make…..let’s say….chocolate or banana mochi bread, could i just sub choco powder or banana flavouring for the cheese powder?

  15. Hello!! I sincerely Thank You SOO MUUCH for the recipe!!! I love this bread and I was missing it so much!!!

  16. i dont get steps 3 and 4. could you pls clarify it? Thank you so much for sharing:)

  17. I don’t understand steps 3 and 4. Could you kindly explain in much clearly? Thank you so much for sharing!

  18. Is soy flour absolutely necessary? Please tell us! Thank you 🙂

  19. I find the following recipe quite nice. Do give it a try 😀 http://bakingfiend.blogspot.com/2007/03/chewy-little-morsels.html

  20. Thank u so much! Your Mochi Bread is the Singapore Chewy Junior recipe I have found for a long time.
    Because I don’t have shortening and butter. So, I substituted sesame oil for them and It quite worked well.
    You also can try the the recipe without sugar and use this bread with any topping cream.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

