Pineapple Tarts

3 February, 2008 at 12:53 am | Posted in » Bite-size Tarts, » Recipes | 13 Comments
Tags: , , ,

pineapple_tarts_0001.jpg

How often do you see pineapples tart on the shelves other then during the CNY period? I would say the chances are low… Pineapple tarts are usually available during CNY period… it’s strange that why this lovely treats are only available during that time of the year… and maybe becos of this, it’s so special and a must have during CNY.

This year I did not make my own pineapple paste, instead, I bought those ready made from my regular baking supply shop… hubby was complaining that the paste is not nice, not moist enough and lack of flavors… I guess he is too used to the pineapple paste I made… heehee

Personally, I dun really like those ready made pineapple paste as well… I always find that it’s too hard for my liking that’s why I always insists on making my own… but this year I’m kinda lazy to make the paste… so I just make do with those ready made…

I modified my usual recipe abit to add some milk… and the outcome turns out quite well, the crust is flaky and kinda melts-in-the-mouth…

Ingredients:

550 grams plain flour
350 grams butter
2 tablespoon icing sugar (if you like your pastry to be sweeter, you can add more)
1 teaspoon bakin powder
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
3 egg yolks
1 egg white
3-4 tablespoon of ice water / cold milk

pinch of salt
1 egg, beaten to glaze
1 kg pineapple paste

Method:

1.    Sift flour and baking powder together with salt. Add icing sugar.  Rub in the butter until mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
2.    Lightly work in the vanilla essence, egg yolks and egg white. Add in ice water a teaspoon at a time until dough is soft but not sticky.
3.    Preheat oven to 180 degrees C (350 F).
4.    Press the dough into a disc, use a pineapple tart cutter to stamp out the tart and arrage on ungreased baking sheet.
4.    Glaze with egg. Place a smaller ball of pineapple paste on the centre of the tart and press lightly.
5.    Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from oven and cool for 10 minutes before removing to wire racks to cool completely.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hello Karen!!

    Happened to chance by your blog from Lyana’s and read through all your yummy bakes!! I’m so inspired hahaha! Going to follow your recipe and make the fruit cake this weekend! 😀

  2. hmmm… i’ve celebrated CNY since i was a kid and have never seen these! i love pineapple! where have i been?!

    i just joined the DB this month, just checking out everyone else’s blogs, wanted to say hello 🙂

  3. Your pineapple tarts should taste very good! How do you keep your tarts fresh for several days. I would cooled mine completely store in airtight container and next day they became soft and did not taste as fresh. Do you have this problem ? Hope you can help. Thanks.

  4. hmmm… i don’t have this problem… i oso stored them in airtight container after completely cooled.

  5. hi,
    I am writing an article about Chinese New Year goodies and would like to use the picture of pineapple tarts on your site. Is this possible?

    thks

    • hi, sure, please put down the credits to my blog. thanks.

  6. hi

    could you pls tell me why my pineapple paste is so hard (like a rock) after baking.

    thanks
    jenny

    • hi,
      u could be u have baked the paste with the crust for too long…
      you can bake the crust 1st to abt 80-90% done then take out & put the paste on top & bake again until the crust is full done.
      =)

  7. […] followed a good recipe from here and added some mature white cheddar into the dough mix. Sweet & savoury pineapple tarts are a […]

  8. hi, i just want to know where i can buy a nice pineaple paste with sweet and sour. cos each time i buy the paste no pineapple taste. pls advice, TQ

    • Hi, u can try phoon huat, their pineapple paste r not bad.

      • where was it actually

  9. […] Haha this recipe is super vague and confusing even TO ME so you might not understand it either, I had a hard time translating it from my mom because she doesn’t speak English and I don’t know the first thing about baking or making cookies! I found another recipe online which is somewhat similar but this one calls for slight variations, such as the addition of baking powder. [Click here for the recipe!] […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

